United Cup 2023: When is it, groups, nations, players, cities and how to watch new tennis tournament

Press Room

A brand new tournament will kick off the 2023 summer of tennis in Australia, with the United Cup replacing the ATP Cup.

National teams will be going toe to toe, as some of the sport’s biggest names are set to compete in the mixed warm-up event ahead of the Australian Open. 

The Sporting News takes you through all the key details for the tournament.

MORE: ‘No chance’: Cahill backs Halep amid doping drama | Aussie wins emotional first ATP title

What is the United Cup?

The United Cup is a new mixed tennis tournament, played in a team competition format. 

In 2023, 18 nations – comprising up to four men and four women – will face off to be crowned inaugural champions.

Countries will be split into six pools of three teams, with semi-finals and a final in Sydney to cap off the event.

Teams will play four singles matches (two men’s and two women’s) and one mixed doubles match in the round-robin stage.

There is a $15 million prize pool on offer, so there will be plenty of incentive for players to participate in the warm-up event.

When and where is the United Cup?

Whilst the ATP Cup was held exclusively in Sydney, three cities - Brisbane, Perth and Sydney - will co-host the United Cup in 2023.

The event will take place over 11 days, beginning on Thursday, December 29, 2022 and wrapping up on Sunday, January 8, 2023.

Each city will host two separate groups made up of three countries between December 29 to January 4, before the top four nations compete in Sydney from January 6 to 8.

Those top four nations will be those who win in their respective city, as well as the next-best performing team.

How are countries selected for the United Cup?

18 countries will feature in the inaugural tournament in 2023, with 12 countries to be selected from the nations of the top six men’s and women’s players, according to ATP and WTA rankings.

The other six teams will qualify based on combined men’s/women’s rankings.

Which countries and players have been selected for the United Cup?

So far, 16 nations have qualified for the 2023 United Cup. 

The locations, groups and players are outlined below.


Group A


Stefanos Tsitsipas Maria Sakkari
Michail Pervolarakis Despina Papamichail
Stefanos Sakellardidis Valentini Grammatikopoulou
Petros Tsitsipas Sapfo Sakellaridi


David Goffin Elise Mertens
Zizou Bergs Alison Van Uytvanck
Kimmer Coppejans Magali Kempen
Michael Geerts Kirsten Flipkens

Country TBC

Group F


Arthur Rinderknech Caroline Garcia
Adrian Mannarino Alize Cornet
Manuel Guinard Leolia Jeanjean
Edouard Roger-Vasselin Jessika Ponchet


Borna Coric Petra Martic
Borna Gojo Donna Vekic
Matija Pecotic Tara Wurth
Petra Marcinko


Diego Schwartzman Nadia Podoroska
Francisco Cerundolo Maria Carle
Federico Coria Paula Ormaechea
Andres Molteni


Group B


Hubert Hurkacz Iga Swiatek
Kamil Majchrzak Magda Linette
Daniel Michalski Weronika Falkowska
Lukasz Kubot Alicja Rosolska


Stan Wawrinka Belinda Bencic
Marc-Andrea Huesler Jil Teichmann
Dominic Stricker Ylena In-Albon
Alexander Ritschard Joanne Zuger

Country TBC

Group E


Matteo Berrettini Martina Trevisan
Lorenzo Musetti Lucia Bronzetti
Andrea Vavassori Camila Rosatello
Marco Bortolotti Nuria Brancaccio


Thiago Monteiro Beatriz Haddad Maia
Felipe Meligeni Alves Laura Pigossi
Matheus Pucinelli de Almeida Carolina Alves
Rafael Matos Luisa Stefani


Casper Ruud Ulrikke Eikeri
Viktor Durasovic Malene Helgo
Andreja Petrovic Lilly Haseth


Group C


Taylor Fritz Jessica Pegula
Frances Tiafoe Madison Keys
Denis Kudla Alycia Parks
Hunter Reese Desirae Krawczyk


Alexander Zverev Laura Siegemund
Oscar Otte Jule Niemeier
Daniel Altmaier Anna-Lena Friedsam
Fabian Fallert Julia Lohoff

Czech Republic

Jiri Lehecka Petra Kvitova
Tomas Machac Marie Bouzkova
Lukas Rosol Jesika Maleckova
Dalibor Svrcina

Group D


Rafael Nadal Paula Badosa
Pablo Carreno Busta Nuria Parrizas Diaz
Albert Ramos-Vinolas Jessica Bouzas Maneiro
David Vega Hernandez


Nick Kyrgios Ajla Tomljanovic
Alex de Minaur Zoe Hives
Jason Kubler Maddison Inglis
John Peers Sam Stosur

Great Britain

Cameron Norrie Harriet Dart
Dan Evans Katie Swan
Jan Choinski Anna Brogan
Jonny O’Mara Ella McDonald

How to watch the United Cup

As the rights holders of the 2023 Summer of Tennis – including the Australian Open – Nine are set to broadcast the United Cup.

Specific broadcast details are yet to be announced, but the action will likely be televised on Channel 9 (or a secondary channel) and streamed via 9Now.

Details for viewers outside of Australia have also not been announced. 

What happened to the ATP Cup?

Replacing the Hopman Cup in 2020, the ATP Cup has lasted just three years.

A men-only tournament, it pitted nations together in a team competition format. 

Team Serbia claimed the inaugural edition, with Team Russia (2021) and Team Canada (2022) the other victors. 

Ultimately, the ATP Cup has been replaced due to the increasing co-operation between the men’s and women’s tennis tours (the ATP and WTA). 

The $15 million prize pool for the United Cup reflects the backing mixed tournaments are receiving, as tennis priorities efforts towards equality.

When is the 2023 Australian Open?

Next year’s Australian Open will run from Monday, January 16 until Sunday, January 29.

Articles You May Like

Brittany and Patrick Mahomes Welcome Baby No. 2
Target Shoppers Are Obsessed With This $18 Quarter-Zip, and So Am I
World Cup Group H table, standings 2022: Updated results and fixtures for Portugal, Ghana, Uruguay and South Korea
I Tried Target’s Bestselling $25 Sweater, and Now I Want It in Every Color
White Noise

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *