Women’s College World Series wins by school: Who has the most NCAA softball national championships in history?


The Women’s College World Series only started in 1982, but more than four decades of action have allowed a handful of schools to establish dynasties.

Fans are living through a dynasty right now. Oklahoma has won four national championships since 2016 and is aiming to make it five this year just a short distance from the school’s Norman campus. The Sooners are evoking memories of UCLA, Arizona, and other stretches of dominance in college softball history. 

Oklahoma doesn’t reign supreme when it comes to all-time titles, however. Six schools have won the Women’s College World Series multiple times, and three stand above the rest. 

MORE: Full bracket, results for NCAA softball tournament

Here’s a look at the history of Women’s College World Series champions, including a full list of schools who have won titles.

Most NCAA softball championships

Thirteen schools have won an NCAA softball title, and six have done it multiple times.

Three schools — UCLA, Arizona, and Oklahoma — have combined for 26 championships. The Bruins have been softball’s most consistent program, winning multiple titles in four different decades, but Oklahoma has quickly risen up the rankings with four national championships since 2016.

A title for the Sooners this year would place them only one behind Arizona. Oklahoma already broke the Wildcats’ record for the longest win streak in NCAA softball history.

MORE: Inside Oklahoma’s record-setting win streak

Here is a full list of which schools have the most Women’s College World Series titles.

School Titles Last Title
UCLA 12 2019
Arizona 8 2007
Oklahoma 6 2022
Arizona State 2 2011
Florida 2 2015
Texas A&M 2 1987
Alabama 1 2012
Cal State Fullerton 1 1986
California 1 2002
Florida State 1 2018
Fresno State 1 1998
Michigan 1 2005
Washington 1 2009

Four schools in this year’s initial Women’s College World Series field have won a national championship: Oklahoma, Florida State, Alabama, and Washington. Four more schools entered in search of their first title: Stanford, Tennessee, Utah, and Oklahoma State. 

Articles You May Like

The Daily SpoilerTV Community Open Discussion Thread – 30th September 2023
RHOP Season 8 Trailer Features Fights, “Voodoo” and More
Heels, Run the World and Blindspotting – Cancelled by Starz; The Venery of Samantha Bird Not Moving Forward
The Fate of Matt James’ Mom on The Golden Bachelor Revealed
When do the MLB playoffs start in 2023? Date, TV schedule & updated AL, NL brackets for postseason

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *